Crystal Syphon’s double CD will be released on March 19th

Unless you were lucky enough to attend San Francisco Bay Area live shows in the late 1960s, the name Crystal Syphon will probably sound new to you. Just a few years ago the band reissued material recorded decades earlier.
On March 19, 2021, Gear Fab Records will reissue their two albums: “Family Evil” and “Elephant Ball”.
The time has finally come to discover one of the most talented and unknown bands in the Bay Area.

Crystal Syphon was a fantastic band in the glittering Bay Area music scene in the early 1970s. Their sound was known by the lucky patrons of the likes of the Fillmore West, the Avalon Ballroom or the various festivals active at that time. Known initially as The Morelochs (late 1965) and finally from 1967 definitively as Crystal Syphon, these six guys from Merced, whose performances were often reported by Ralph Gleason, played alongside artists such as Big Brother & The Holding Company, The Grateful Dead, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Jefferson Airplane and many more.
It is useless to compare their sound to other bands active at that time. Crystal Syphon had a truly unique musical style thanks to both the vocal harmonies and the synergy between the guitar and the Farfisa organ during the riding jams.

Unfortunately, the band did not sign a contract that would lead them to release a record in their heyday. But, fortunately for us, Roaratorio Records first thought of releasing the vinyl, and now Gear Fab is offering a CD package.

On March 19, 2021, Gear Fab Record will release both the Family Evil and Elephant Ball albums on a double CD containing all the material recorded in the studio and in rehearsal between 1967 and 1969, plus tracks recorded live at the Fillmore West in San Francisco.
It is an exciting record full of psychedelic sound that certainly should not be absent from the collection of anyone who loves the music of that era.

Disc 1: Family Evil
1)Marcy, Your Eyes
2) Paradise
3) Have More Of Everything
4) Try Something Different
5) Fuzzy And Jose
6) Are You Dead Yet?
7) In My Mind
8) Family Evil +
9) Fails To Shine+
10) Winter Is Cold+
11) Winter Is Cold+++

Disc 2- Elephant Ball
1) Dawn Sermon
2) For All Of My Life
3) Tell Her For Me
4) Elephant Ball++
5) Sing To Me++
6) It’s Winter++
7) Snow Falls++
8) Don’t Fall Brother++
9) There Is Light There

+ Live at The Fillmore West, 21 January, 1968
++ Live at Fillmore West, 18 November, 1969
+++ Recorded 2008

(Maurizio Galli)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email